Google: Using the Contact & Calendar Sync
Admins can enable the Google Contact & Calendar add-on in account settings for any user on the account. Once enabled a PipelineDeals contact Group will be created in the user's Google account. The user can select a calendar to sync with PipelineDeals from the Google Sync page found in My Profile.
Enable the integration
You must be logged into Google Apps as an admin, with a corresponding PipelineDeals admin user with the same email. If you do not yet have a PipelineDeals account, your new account must have a user with the email you use for your Google Apps admin.
If there is more than one user on your PipelineDeals account then be sure to select Domain Install to allow access to all user's calendars.
Setting up with a new PipelineDeals account
If you have a Google Apps for Domains account, but you do not yet have a PipelineDeals account, you can open PipelineDeals listing on Google Apps Marketplace, and click Add it Now.
NOTE: You must log in as an administrator of your Google Apps account to set up sync with PipelineDeals
Setting up with an existing PipelineDeals account
You must be an admin on PipelineDeals and an account admin in Google Apps to initiate the Google Contact and Calendar Sync. You can access the PipelineDeals app for download in the Google Marketplace by following this link or by navigating to the Integrations page in your PipelineDeals account. Navigate to the Integrations page in PipelineDeals by clicking on the profile icon in the upper right corner > Account Settings > Integrations > Google Apps
After PipelineDeals has been added to a Google Apps account and the permissions have been approved by the administrator, the PipelineDeals admin can return at any time to the Google Apps Admin page, and select Manage Google Apps Users to change these settings.
We recommend that when you first set up the sync, you test out the sync on one or two users to ensure that the system is working in the way that you anticipated.
How can users adjust their sync settings?
Users can adjust their sync settings if an admin has given them access to the Google Sync. To adjust your settings as a user, click on the profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen and select My Profile > Google Sync. From here, a user can adjust whether they are syncing their contacts and/or calendar, and the Calendar in Google that they want to sync with.
What contacts will be synced and who owns synced contacts?
A Google Contact Group called PipelineDeals will be created once the sync is enabled. Contacts in this group are the only contacts that will sync between accounts. Contacts must be added to this group if a user wants it to appear in PipelineDeals.
Who owns synced contacts?
People owned by the user in PipelineDeals will be added to the PipelineDeals group in Google. If email addresses match, the records will be linked.
If you re-assign this contact in PipelineDeals to another PipelineDeals user, this will remove the contact from your PipelineDeals contact group, but it will not delete the contact from Google. The contact will be added to the PipelineDeals contact group for the user whom you re-assigned the contact to.
PipelineDeals changes sync to Google immediately
Changes made in PipelineDeals will make changes in Google automatically. This is true for both new records, updates to existing records, as well as deleting records. You may need to refresh or reload your Google contacts or calendar to see these changes from PipelineDeals.
Changes made in Google are automatically visible in PipelineDeals for Calendar entries, and Contacts will be updated on an hourly basis.
NOTE: The first time you sync from Google, all Google contacts and calendar events will be synced to PipelineDeals. Subsequent syncs will only pull changes made since the last sync.
How do recurring events work?
While you will see initially that recurring events sync into PipelineDeals, any updates made to recurring events can lead to unexpected results and is not recommended.
How do I enable or disable Google sync as an admin? As a user?
If you are an admin and you want to enable/disable access to syncing across the account, click on the profile icon in the upper right corner and select Account Settings > Integrations > Google Apps where you can enable or disable access to the Contact and Calendar sync.
As a user, you can enable/disable Google sync by navigating to the Google Sync section. Click on the profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen and select My Profile > Google Sync.
Do you have any recommendations for using the sync?
It is recommended that you start by setting up to sync only one or two users, and sync additional users after you have verified that things work the way you expect.
Will syncing delete my contacts?
Enabling the Google Sync will not delete your contacts. The sync is bidirectional and controlled by the user. Changes you make in your PipelineDeals or Google accounts will impact each other. Additions, updates, and deletions to your Google contacts will be synced to PipelineDeals and vice versa. If you delete a user in PipelineDeals, they will remain in Google and will only be removed from the PipelineDeals contact group.
Can I sync my personal Gmail account with PipelineDeals?
No. PipelineDeals Calendar and Contact sync is only available for Google Apps for Work accounts.
I'm making Company name changes in PipelineDeals that don't seem to stick or transfer to Google Contacts, what's going on?
This usually occurs when a duplicate company is made because contact in Google has a slightly different company name than how it appears in PipelineDeals. For example, let's say you have "Acme Corp" in PipelineDeals, and you sync your contacts with Google. Bob Smith, whose company is listed as "Acme Corporation", would generate a second company called "Acme Corporation". Merging these companies in PipelineDeals will not affect Bob's company name in Google, because Google does not recognize our merges. So the next time your contacts sync, it will look like these companies have un-merged. Make sure to keep your data consistent across Google and PipelineDeals to prevent issues such as this. Our general recommendation is that for any changes you wish to make to a company name, do so in Google first before doing it in PipelineDeals.
If I delete an event in Google will that remove it from my PipelineDeals calendar and vice versa?
Yes, that is correct. If you delete a calendar item from either Google or PipelineDeals, those changes will be reflected in both locations.