PipelineDeals Help Center
Add and Manage Users
Add and Manage Users 3:19
Users are team members that use PipelineDeals. Account administrators can add users by clicking +Add, then New user.
When you add a new user you will be asked to assign them a role and user permissions. User Roles determine a user's visibility to people and deals (1).
You can assign basic and manager level users to a manager level user to make a team. That manager will then be able to see all of the deals of the users on their team. So, in the example above Sue is the manager and has Albert, Chris and Lucy on her team. So, Sue can see any deals that are owned or shared with those users. It's worth noting that the users on her team, Albert, Chris and Lucy, cannot see each others' deals unless they share them with each other. Teams enable the manager to see what the users on their team see, but the users on the team cannot see their teammates' deals.
You can further restrict visibility by changing your visibility settings in the Account Details section of your Account Settings page.
Here is how each of those settings affects visibility based on user role:
- Executive: Able to see all deals, people and companies in the entire account.
- Regardless of Visibility options selected, executives see everything.
- Manager: Able to see their own deals plus those of any Basic or Manager level users assigned to their team.
- You can choose to restrict visibility over People or both Companies and People to only those they have ownership over plus those of any Basic or Manager level users assigned to their team.
- Basic: Able to see all deals they have ownership over.
- You can choose to restrict visibility over People or both Companies and People to only those they have ownership over.
Exceptions to the above:
- Company Ownership:
- Assigning an “owner” of a company, grants full access to the entire company record including all deals, people, notes, activities, files, agenda items etc.
- This overrides previous visibility settings for this single company-- but doesn’t change the user’s role or visibility to other data in the account.
- Company ownership can only be set/changed by an executive level user.
- “Worked On By”:
- This designation is only important when referencing the strictest visibility model.
- A company is only visible to a user if the company is “worked on by” that user, that is, if the user created the company or owns an associated person or deal.
User permissions (2) allow users to delete people and deals, export reports and access Account Settings. Once you click Send invitation (3) button the new user will receive an email inviting them to join your PipelineDeals account.
Manage and Deactivate Users
Users who have access to the PipelineDeals account are listed in the Active Users table, where you can search, sort and filter to find users by various criteria by clicking on the top of the column you wish to sort or filter by (4). Click the user's name or the pencil icon (5) to edit user info and roles, assign users to teams, and set user permissions. Under Actions (6), you can re-send an invitation to the account or mark a user as inactive. You can also export user data to a CSV file (7).
When you deactivate a user, that user no longer has access to the account and is moved to the Inactive Users table. (Note: If you previously deleted any users from your account, those users will show up in the Inactive Users table as well.)
Inactive users will no longer count towards your seat licenses for billing purposes. Please make sure you lower the seat license count for future billing cycles on the Payment & Billing page.
Inactive Users: Reassigning Data
When you deactivate a user, you have the option to reassign that user’s data to another user on the account. You can also keep the data assigned to the inactive user to reassign it later. Until the data is reassigned, it is still visible in the account and you can search or filter for data assigned to the inactive user. The inactive user’s name will be in gray, with an icon showing that the data belongs to an inactive user.
When you choose to reassign the data, companies, active-stage deals, and people owned by the inactive user will be reassigned to the new user. The following types of data will not be reassigned:
- Deals that were won or lost by the inactive user. If the new user’s role restricts visibility to those deals, access can be given by an Executive-level user on the account, either by transferring the data or assigning the new user as the owner of the associated company.
- Any activities entered by the inactive user.
- Any tasks and events that were completed by the inactive user. These can be viewed on Company, Person, and Profile pages, as well as in the Agenda tab, but they will not be visible in the Calendar.
Once the user is in the Inactive Users list, there are two ways to to assign an inactive user’s data to another user:
- In the Inactive Users list, click “Reassign data.” This option will only be available if there is data left to reassign.
- In the Companies, Deals, or People List View, filter for the inactive user and any other relevant criteria, use the checkboxes to select the records you want to reassign, and click the “Perform actions” link.
Users cannot be reactivated. They will need to be invited to join the account again using the instructions above. If data is still assigned their old instance in the account, you can reassign the data to their new instance.
For more on deactivating users and how data in your account is affected, read our blog post.