PipelineDeals Help Center
Merge Duplicate People
It is possible to merge duplicate person profiles in PipelineDeals.
For example, imagine that you have two copies in PipelineDeals of the same person, Tony Atkin and Tony Atkins. You know that these profiles are for the same person and you want to preserve the data on both profiles.
If you want to merge two profiles, navigate to the most complete profile and follow the steps below.
Steps to Merge Duplicate People
- Click on the person record you want to keep - in this case Rainier Aliment. You will land on Rainer's person profile page.
- On Rainier Aliment’s profile page, the profile that you want to maintain, click the Actions button > Merge.
- Search for the duplicate record. Click on their name in the drop down to select them.
- Finalize the merge. The record going away will be on the left and the record that will remain will be on the right. Be sure to validate what you are doing as there is no un-merge. Merging is forever.
- Click the Merge button at the bottom of the page to complete the merge. You can also cancel by clicking the X in the upper right hand corner at the top of the pop up, or by clicking Cancel.
Thats it! We'll take care of the rest instantly. The new record will have a complete history of both people, including all the Activities, Tasks, Events, Deals, and Files from the record that was merged.
Ground rules for merging people
Merging two records sounds very easy at first, but the actual process is fairly complex. Below are ground rules to further explain the people merger process.
- The "going away" record will be merged into the "here to stay" record.
- People records with multiple email addresses will first populate work, then home, then other on the "here to stay" record. After three email addresses, each additional email address will then be appended in an Activity. The same goes for phone numbers.
- Any data that would be merged into an already populated position such as phone, email, other addresses, custom fields will be appended as an Activity to the remaining record for safekeeping.
- All files, tasks, events, activities and deals will be transferred to the "here to stay" record.
Finally, please remember, merges cannot be undone.