PipelineDeals Help Center
User and Team Management
Account administrators can add new users, edit user info, deactivate users, set user roles, and create/edit teams in the Users page found in Account settings. All non-executive users in your PipelineDeals account are team members. Creating User Teams increases communication and collaboration among users within your PipelineDeals account.
The Organization chart is a visual representation of the users in your PipelineDeals account. Users are grouped as either Executives or in Teams dependant upon their user role. Executives cannot be on a team but do have full team records visibility; Team member’s visibility is set by the Admin and can be customized on a team by team basis. Click on a user’s name to edit their email, name, role, team, password and permissions. Expand all displays all teams and reporting structure, dependant upon your PipelineDeals plan. Edit Team Settings by clicking the team name or Add existing user to that team by clicking on the “+”.
Users who have access to the PipelineDeals account are listed in the Active users tab, where you can search, sort and filter to find users by various criteria by clicking on the column header.
Click on the user’s name to edit their email, name, role, team, password and permissions. Clicking the team name will open its Team Settings. Actions allows the admin to Edit user (same as above), Re-send invitation email to join their PipelineDeals account, Reassign data to an existing user, and Mark as inactive.
The Inactive users tab lists all deactivated users on the account with the ability to filter, sort and reassign data to new or existing users at a later time. The data is still visible to the team until it is reassigned to a new user or different team. Reassigned data includes companies, people, deals, and non-complete task/events. The inactive user will maintain ownership of all won/lost deals, activities, and completed tasks/events.
How to create and customize User Teams
Click on Create new team in the Users page and follow the four steps:
- Create team (team name and optional reports to team-to-team hierarchy)
- Add users (new or existing)
- Set visibility (visibility is set on a team level so all members have access to the same information)
- Team Settings
How to edit Team Settings
To edit a team’s settings, click on a team’s name to open the team’s settings page. You can edit:
- Team name
- Change the team’s reporting structure
- Add/move/edit users
- Set visibility rules
- Assign team leaders and members
- Delete the team altogether.
Teams can have no or multiple Team Leaders and Read-only access users as well.
A new or existing user can be added or moved to a team by clicking Add new user or Add existing user then Move in the Team Settings. Users moved will retain ownership of all records but may remove their visibility to their previous team’s data.
Reports to allows teams to report to other teams to preserve multi-level hierarchy.
Each team created in PipelineDeals has its own visibility settings. Visibility settings help you control what team members can see and edit whether its deals, companies, or people owned by their team. Visibility is controlled at a team level which helps users on the same team work together. Refer to the the PipelineDeals Knowledge Base if you’re using Company Ownership.
Add new user
The Add new user button is found on the main Users page where the admin sets the new user’s role, team, and permissions.
Team roles based on a team’s visibility settings:
- Executives cannot be on a team but can see and edit data across the entire account.
- Team Leaders can see and edit data across their team or account
- Team Members is the default position and can see and edit data within their team or account
To add a new user to the account click Add new user.
You can also add new or existing users to a team by clicking on a team name under Teams in the Organization chart or on a team name in the Active users tab list view.
How to set permissions
Users can add and edit data with Normal access whereas Read-only access users cannot add or edit any data. These permissions can be set by clicking on their name or in Add new user form under Permissions.
Normal access allows visibility and data editing capabilities based on the user’s role and team visibility settings. This is the default primary level of access when adding a new user. Customizable permissions include:
- Account Admin
- Can delete people & deals
- Can export reports
- Can send email campaigns (only in accounts with Connect feature)
Read-only access restricts editing and reporting capabilities based on the user’s role and team visibility settings. The user can add and comment on all activities associated with their team.
Q: Where does the data and records owned by a deactivated or inactive user go if I reassign their data right away?
A: All inactive users with previously completed activities and tasks will remain in the account under the original creator’s name. Any outstanding tasks and events or records that have been reassigned will now be under the new owner’s name and will be visible based on the user visibility settings.
Q: Where does the data and records owned by a deactivated or inactive user go if I wait to reassign their data?
A: All inactive users data and records remain visible to a team per visibility settings until the account administrator reassigns the data to an active user or different team. You can filter for Inactive users in each of the owner columns.
Q: What is the best process for adding/replacing a new user?
A: We recommend marking the current user inactive first and selecting to reassign their data later. Then invite the new user to the account and select to re-assign the inactive users data to the new user. This will allow any previously created activities or completely tasks or events to be under the original inactive users name for accurate record keeping.
Q: Will a user know they have been marked inactive?
A: As soon as you mark a user inactive, even if they were logged into the account, the next time they on the screen, they will receive the login screen. If they try to enter in their old credentials, they will receive an error message that says we do not recognize their email address. But, they will not receive any notifications or emails.
Q: How do I create organizational hierarchy?
A: Using Reports to when creating or editing in Team Settings allows account administrators to assign team-to-team reporting based on an organization’s structure.
Q: Can teams have multiple Team Leaders?
A: Yes! Account administrators can assign multiple team leaders to a team.
Q: How many teams can I setup in my account?
A: The number of teams your account can have is based on your subscription plan. You can have 1 team on the Start plan, 2 teams on the Develop plan, and Unlimited teams on the Grow plan.
Q: Who has access to team data and records?
All visibility settings are set by the account administrator. Executives cannot be be on a team but can see and edit data across the entire account, Team Leaders can see and edit data across their team or account. Team Members as the default position can see and edit data within their team or account. Read-only access Team Members can add and comment on all activities within their team but cannot edit or report.